Django Unchained Review

I normally am not a fan of Tarantino movies, but I extremely enjoyed this movie. I think a little too much actually.

This movie had a lot of bad rep coming from Spike Lee, but honestly people who were offended by this movie have to seriously reconsider what they’re actually offended by. Tarantino does use racial slurs quite freely and frequently in this movie, but I think in the context of the film, it made sense. Historically, that’s how people were treated during the slave era. With his harsh language, and controversial topics, Tarantino was trying to prove the point of how ridiculous people treated others based on racial difference. People who were outraged by this film need to calm their tits. It’s a movie.

The acting was superb and everything I would have hoped it to be. The actor who really impressed me the most was Leonardo Dicaprio. In the scene where he smashes his hand down on the table, he gashes his hand open and it starts bleeding profusely. Now most actors who injure themselves while the cameras are rolling typically would break character and say shit, I’m bleeding, but great actors are the ones that keep in character (Like when Viggo Mortensen actually broke his toe in a scene in The Two Towers). Leo, being a great actor, keeps his composure. He doesn’t even flinch when the broken glass slices his hand open. He even goes as far as to wipe his real blood all over poor Kerry Washington’s face! When the scene was done, he required stitches for his injury, no big deal or anything…

This movie kept me on the edge of my seat. If I could sum up this movie in one word, it would have to be intense. From start to finish, Tarantino keeps the intensity fresh and undying. Never have I been excited over a Tarantino film, but now I can say that I have been.

9/10

Leave a Reply

