Man of Steel Review

I’m not a huge Superman fan, and to be honest, I didn’t really know much about his character. Before going into this movie, I heard that the critic reviews tore it up. Naturally I had low expectations, especially since I wasn’t really on the Superman bandwagon. The one thing that I can say is that I absolutely loved Man of Steel.

One thing that the critics hated was Zack Snyder’s direction. I don’t know why, I thought the cinematics were brilliant. I also loved Sucker Punch and thought the scenes were beautifully shot. He also directed 300, Watchmen, as well as Dawn of the Dead, so he’s no director to mess with. The fight scenes in Man of Steel were delicious to watch, and the speed of the fight scenes didn’t make your head spin. The pacing of the movie was very well-balanced, and not focused on 20 minute fight scenes (Cough…Transformers…). The soundtrack was also thrilling, a no-brainer considering it was composed by the extraordinary Hans Zimmer (The Lion King, The Batman Trilogy, Inception – just to name a few….)

Amy Adams made Lois Lane seem less damsel in distress, and more strong, independent woman. The only complaint I have is about her character development of her relationship with Superman. There wasn’t enough time to build their relationship and I feel like they rushed through it. It was as if they just met and the next minute they were already kissing. There was no build-up to appreciate, so it was a little of a let down because you expected them to get together anyway. Kevin Costner really stuck out for me as Johnathan Kent, considering he did not have a huge role in this film.

Also, Henry Cavill, where have you been all my life? His muscles are real, not CGI. His beautiful, beautiful body is completely real. What am I talking about?

Can we just appreciate this for a moment

Charming as Clark, and kick-ass as Superman, he was the perfect mix of gorgeous and relentless faith in human nature. His film credentials are small right now, but after Man of Steel, his career is going to skyrocket. Who can resist that mesmerizing smile of his? Oh yeah, and Cavill’s European.

One more for good measure

Man of Steel is a great crowd-pleaser, despite what critics say. I mean they’re called critics for a reason I guess? From an outside perspective, someone who’s not familiar with the origins of Superman, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

8.5/10

Leave a Reply

